Krishnam Vande Jagadgurum

Okay, I know that amongst this blog’s visitors, there are many people who think that I watch and appreciate only Tamil movies ;)… not true. I actually watch more Telugu movies than any other language (naturally!). Its just that most of the Tamil movies I watch happen to be interesting. I find it natural that we watch movies of all sorts in our native language. But, when it comes to watching movies from another language, what we get to know already passes through certain filters (like reviews, multi-views whatever).

Once in a while, amidst anything and everything that I see in Telugu, there comes a movie that I watch and exclaim – “hey, that’s a different one amidst the contemporary Telugu movies!”. KVJ, (which I managed to watch only now, months after its release), gave me that feeling. Although I am not fond of item songs or any abrupt songs (all songs in KVJ seemed abrupt!) and too much of audio-visual violence, KVJ had some amazing dialogue and I loved some of the scenes, especially those dasavataram scenes on stage. I also found the story very contemporary and quite different from other (mostly nonsensical) Telugu movies that I end up watching on a regular basis. I don’t know if we can call the actors extra-ordinary…but they were adequate. I still have the “mental krishna” Posani in my mind…but he was hilarious here🙂.

I find Krish’s movies interesting. Many of the younger Telugu directors whose movies I’ve been watching in the past few years seem to be decent storytellers but not good story writers. Yet, I don’t understand why they insist on writing their own stories (Not that anyone wants my valuable…rather invaluable opinion on this matter..but hey, its my blog!). But, with Krish, its different. I find him to be a good story writer too. All his movies actually have a real story which is the central point…rather than ..say a hero or a heroine (okay, thats what I feel). I will look forward to watch his other movies in future.

Although I enjoy movies like “dookudu” or “khaleja” or “dhee” or “ready” a lot… and keep watching them again and again (God knows how many times I watched Ready…already!), KVJ is different. I do like our punch-dialogues…amazing dance movements… the drama, twists and turns, comedies and comedians. But, when it comes to the actual story, most of the movies seem to follow the same pattern. So, in this backdrop, I guess I can say that KVJ is amongst the best Telugu movies I saw in recent past.

Published in: on March 18, 2013 at 7:00 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vbsowmya.wordpress.com/2013/03/18/krishnam-vande-jagadgurum/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Of course there is nothing wrong in seeing Tamil or other language films.Some of them have good story lines.Unlike in Hollywood our filmwaalaas donot give sufficient attention and freedom to story and screenplay writers..
    I agree with your comments on VKJG.iT COULD HAVE BEEN A MUCH BETTER FILM BY BETTER HANDLING AND SCRIPT..
    I saw a Telugu film ” nireekshana ”.unexpectedly it proved to be a very good and moving,picture.;(cast;;Bhanuchandar and Archana)

  2. Our folks need to take inspiration from their brethren in hindi cinema.. this year the national awards went to films like.. paan singh tomar, kahaani, vicky donor, gangs of wasseypur, oh my god etc .. all are so un-bollywood like.
    Krish still doesnt have the guts to make a true blue new movie.. he still sticks to those stereotypes sadly. i didnt like KVJ for those reasons.. it cud have been a masterpiece considering the whole thing abt a fading art form… a mining mafia.. a brave journalist.. an endangered tribe etc. but krish failed to take it to the next league imho

    • @halley: this is why I only compare it with contemporary Telugu films😛

  3. yes I agree.the director has dealt with too many topics instead of concentrating on one subject, ultimately doing justice to none.(like Chiranjeevi;s Rudra veeNa ).yet i consider it a moderately good film.

  4. nice one…………

  5. Movie is average. He has got very good script and variety story backdrop. But the treatment is not good.

  6. yes.I agree .

  7. మీ కంక్లూజన్ బాగుందండీ.. ఇపుడొస్తున్న చాలా సినిమాలతో పోలిస్తే ఖచ్చితంగా వైవిధ్యమైన సినిమా కాకపోతే క్రిష్ లాంటి డైరెక్టర్ కూడా కమర్షియల్ ఎలిమెంట్స్ వెంటపడడం చాలామందిని కాస్త నిరాశపరచింది. కమర్షియల్ సక్సెస్ గురించి ఆలోచించకుండా కథలోని బేస్ఎలిమెంట్స్ ని స్ట్రిక్ట్ గా ఫాలో అయి స్క్రిప్ట్ రాసుకుని ఉంటే మరింత మంచి సినిమా అయి ఉండేది.


Leave a Reply

