‘Like’ is not the word…

“..But then, ‘like’ is a word I seldom use to describe my feeling about truly modern artists. Do we really like Pablo Picasso, or Claude-Michel Schönberg or Eugene Ionesco or Alain Robbe-Grillet? We are variously provoked and stimulated by them and our appreciation of them is wholly on an intellectual level. Liking suggests an easy involvement of the senses, a spontaneous ‘taking to’, which I doubt if the modern artist even claims for his public.”
-Satyajit Ray in “A Word About Godard”, published in Link, 15th August 1966. Republished in his collection of essays – Deep Focus, 2011.

Okay, I agree on the difference between the “like” in both cases. But, without intellectualizing (which I am not capable of anyways), how am I supposed to characterize a stimulating experience that any form of art (not only the modern art stuff…but also …say, a poem or a line in a novel) gives me, then – if its not ‘like’? For example: Some piece of a poem totally shocks me … blows my mind in to pieces (well, metaphorically speaking..)…and I absolutely “like” it. What is that “like” called? Any non-intellectualized answers please?

Published in: on August 9, 2012 at 10:28 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vbsowmya.wordpress.com/2012/08/09/like-is-not-the-word/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. itisdifficulttosayonRayslevelbut
    understandistheword.
    wemayunderstandbutmaynotlike.

  2. […] don’t understand the text itself totally, I should say. Going back to what Satyajit Ray said (in yesterday’s post), I think I now understand what the word is. It is “feel”. I like Astavakra Gita […]

  3. Sorry, an intellectual answer, if you don’t mind.🙂

    In your case, the “like” is not like, it should be better described as “see” I believe.

    Example? Yes. If somebody “describes” or you appreciate a thing “about” a rainbow, it is “LIKE”. If you see a beautiful rainbow amidst the showers and parallel sunshine,and chocked with it’s beauty, then it is just “SEE”. In fact, it is also a loose word. No word can describe it, and no need also.

    sorry, again if it’s too much philosophy.


Leave a Reply

