On “Bose”, again!

I was reading an article on Patriotic songs in Telugu, by Budaraju Radhakrishna and stopped at his mention of “Kadam Kadam Badaye Ja”. Now, it was a real surprise. I thought it was written for the movie! (If you read my blog occasionally, you must have understood by now that I am talking about “Bose:The Forgotten Hero” by Shyam Benegal, Nth time!). It seems “Kadam kadam…” was one of the INA anthems, along with “Hum Dilli Dilli Jayenge”. While I still don’t know who wrote this song, Raaga.com decided that it was Javed Akhtar. Imagine Akhtar sab working with Netaji!😉 I love that song. So, irrespective of the history and its mis-representation by raaga, I will continue listening to it🙂

I found a somewhat informative article on rediff.com pages, on Bose’s songs and their origins.
(More gyaan from the link: “Ghoomparani…” is also an old Bengali lullaby🙂..although the song in the film might not exactly be.)

Here, I also found this nice review on “this neglected gem”, as the reviewer calls the movie. Indeed!!

(Enough of Bose-ing for today!) Jai Hind!😉

Published in: on December 19, 2011 at 3:11 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vbsowmya.wordpress.com/2011/12/19/on-bose-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

