Rabindranath Tagore (A Documentary – 1961)

I found this documentary made by Satyajit Ray on Rabindranath Tagore, on the occasion of Tagore’s 100th birth anniversary, in 1961. (Its available on youtube. Just search for “Rabindranath Tagore Documentary Satyajit Ray”).

I am amazed at both Tagore and Ray, and perhaps I will be, for as long as I live. So, if one makes a documentary on the other’s life, imagine my joy!🙂

Needless to say, the documentary was a feast, despite the video quality. (At one point, I thought Tagore looked like Jemshedji Tata! :P). I loved especially the picturisation of young Tagore and where Tagore’s interest in painting was shown. I would say its a must watch for everyone who has read any bit of Tagore, which perhaps includes every Indian😉 It would have been great, if I found a good quality video – would have been a different experience altogether!!

This reminds me of news reports of Tagore’s 150th birth anniversary celebrations, earlier this year. Wonder if any documentaries/short films were made on that occasion!!

I should end, with an addition – the university library in Tübingen has Tagore’s statue inside the building. I looked back again and again in disbelief, when I first saw the statue!

One query: Are there any publicly available documentaries on eminent Telugu people?

Published in: on October 17, 2011 at 7:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vbsowmya.wordpress.com/2011/10/17/rabindranath-tagore-a-documentary-1961/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

