Two Quotes from “The Seventh Seal” by Ingmar Bergman

A couple of weeks back, I was in to a Bergman marathon, reading every thing I can find, from him. In this process, I read a couple of scripts and screenplays too, which began with “The Seventh Seal”. Here are three dialogues, which are my favorites… I never actually saw the movie, except for a few videos. But, I loved the script so much that each time, I read with hyper imagination. So, I can see the guy playing chess with death right in front of me, every time I think of the movie!🙂

Up above is God Almighty
So very far away,
But your brother the Devil
You will meet on every level.

One moment you’re bright and lively,
The next you’re crawling with worms.
Fate is a terrible villain
And you, my friend, its poor victim.

And my favorite –
Faith is a torment, did you know that? It is like loving someone who is out there in the darkness but never appears, no matter how loudly you call.

PS: I read it again yesterday night…so, I guess I will have more to “express” about Seventh Seal in days to come. Be-aware… beware!😛

Published in: on October 13, 2011 at 4:00 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vbsowmya.wordpress.com/2011/10/13/quotes-from-the-seventh-seal-by-ingmar-bergman/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. liked the quotes🙂..especiallt the last one.thanks fr sharing🙂


Leave a Reply

