1 year in Bangalore

I was at Landmark, Forum Mall (Koramangala, Bangalore) today, for the first time and was browsing through the collection there, when I came across this book – ‘Multiple City – writings in Bangalore‘, a Penguin publication edited by Aditi De. I keep imagining about having a job in Penguin office frequently😉 that imagination came back for a moment. However, I came back to reality, bought the book and began reading almost immedietly, and the long commute that followed ended in me falling in love with the book.

The book is a collection of excerpts, essays, poems, conversations – on Bangalore. It was a delightful read so far. Reading people’s memoirs always fascinate me and reading about places I know of fascinate me even more. No wonder, I fell in love with this book. I think its a must read for anyone who is a resident of Bangalore – whether he loves the city or not🙂

Coming to the point, i just remembered that its now an year since I began living in Bengaluru. In a way, reading this book came at the right moment. While Reading, I pondered on what my thoughts on the city are and what place it takes in my life now. Hmm – i’d be lying if I say I don’t like this place🙂. I’ve had good times in the past one year, roaming around the city and outside it. Did not pick up Kannada much, but I guess things will get better. I’ve got enough curious about Kannada Literature.🙂

As I was talking about this book with my bro, he asked me – ‘so, whichever place you go, it naturally becomes your place, then?’. I think that’s the way I am. I tend to like the place I live in and feel at home there. Looking back, there was only one major place shift in the first 25 years of my life – which is moving to Hyderabad. Close to 10 years in Hyderabad, I made it my home, since there is nothing so unliveable in Hyderabad (for me). 1 year in Bengaluru, I think I got used to the place and have no qualms in living longer. Given a chance to choose between Hyderabad and Bengaluru – I won’t choose at all! However, if I go to a city X and if someone asks me where are you from?. I’d probably say – ‘Hyderabad’🙂

I always used to think, my life is a tale of 4 places so far, Kurnool, Hyderabad, Vijayawada and Tirupathi. I’ve hardly lived in VJA and was never a resident of Tirupathi. However, I have some fond associations with them, and would love to spend some time in those places anytime (sans the weather!). Kurnool is an altogether different story – I can never cut ties with the place I guess. I end up going there atleast once in a while, despite the fact that I left the place 10 years ago and I don’t have any close relatives there. Now, I think I can add a 5th place to this list – Bengaluru.

Thanks to Bengaluru, for making my life bearable in the past 1 year!🙂

Published in: on July 3, 2010 at 8:12 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vbsowmya.wordpress.com/2010/07/03/1-year-in-bangalore/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy staying in Bangalore!🙂

    I don’t know where my second big shift’s gonna be (and I am not looking forward to it either), but for now, Hyderabad sorta became my home without me realizing it.

    There’s another anniversary coming up for you this month I guess. 4 years – One blog! Quite a feat according to my impulsive standards!🙂

  2. I agree. Home is where I am! Good thinking. Congratulations on first anniversary in Bengalure. I did not know this spelling. Is this new B’lore?

  3. @Malathi: Bengaluru is the new spelling & pronunciation for Bangalore🙂
    @Phani: Yeah, this blog is going to turn a 4year old soon. Thanks for the wishes.


Leave a Reply

