In the land of invented languages

I knew about only a language called “Esperanto”, which is one “artificial” language. “Artificial” in the sense that – someone actually “built” the language from the scratch. Perhaps, its not so easy to call something like a “language” as artificial. But, then, for want of a better word, I call it “artificial”. So, as I continued to imagine that this is the only “invented” language and I kept going back to that childhood dream I had – about inventing a new language which is easier to learn and write in, I came to know about this fact – that there are more than 900 invented languages!

I was reading about this book by Arika OkrentIn The Land of Invented Languages” and then went to its website. It was really so fascinating to know that so many such languages exist. It then got me back to ground too, for I was imagining that I am the only one who have the “new language invention” idea😉 I remember my schooldays, when this was one of my “things to do before I die” option😛

Okay, more info can be found on the book’s website.
I am all too eager to read the book. Will write about it for sure as soon as I read it.
The book is on the way to my hands now.
Costs a bit too much…but thats okay. One time investment😛

Published in: on July 29, 2009 at 12:39 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vbsowmya.wordpress.com/2009/07/29/in-the-land-of/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I do not know till now, there exists one language called ‘espranto’ and was created.
    My bigger surprise is, when I read
    //that there are more than 900 invented languages!
    😀

    Thank you very much for the post.

  2. I think that the choice, realistically, for the future global language lies between English and Esperanto, rather than an untried project. As a native English speaker I would prefer Esperanto.

    It’s unfortunate, however, that only a few people know that Esperanto has become a living language.

    After a short period of 121 years Esperanto is now in the top 100 languages, out of 6,800 worldwide, according to the CIA factbook.

    It is the 17th most used language in Wikipedia, and a language of choice by Google,Skype, Firefox and Facebook. Native Esperanto speakers,(people who have used the language from birth), include World Chess Champion Susan Polgar, Ulrich Brandenberg the new German Ambassador to NATO and Nobel Laureate Daniel Bovet.

    Further arguments can be seen at http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=_YHALnLV9XU Professor Piron was a translator with the United Nations in Geneva.

    A glimpse of Esperanto can be seen at http://www.lernu.net

  3. @Brian Barker:
    Thanks for the links. Interesting to see this comment.

    However, I have a question (Keeping in mind the fact that I don’t know anything about esperanto’s structure) – what if this untried language is more easier to learn master and use than esperanto?

  4. There are tests on the propaedeutic values of Esperanto by Manchester University at the moment, but the results at the moment are very encouraging.

    Although Esperanto is a living language, it helps language learning as well.

    Five British schools have introduced Esperanto in order to test this theory and the initial results can be seen at http://www.springboard2languages.org/Summary%20of%20evaluation,%20S2L%20Phase%201.pdf

    You might also like to see http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-8837438938991452670 or the multilingual website on http://www.esperanto.net

    Hope this answers the question🙂

  5. ఎస్పరాంటో గురించి దాదాపు పదిహేనేళ్ళక్రితం విన్నాను. ఓ పుస్తకం తెప్పించి నేర్చుకొన్నాను. కానీ ఉపయోగం తక్కువై చాలా వరకు మర్చిపోవడం జరిగింది. డా. జమెన్ హోఫ్ అనే పోలండు దేశస్థుడు ‘తయారు చేసిన’ ఈ భాషను మాట్లాడేవారు ప్రపంచవ్యాప్తంగా అనేక లక్షలమంది ఉన్నారు.మనదేశంలో కూడా ‘Federacio Esperanto de Barato’ అన్న పేరుతో భారత ఎస్పరాంటో ఫెడరేషన్ పూణెలో ఉంది (నేను కూడా అందులో సభ్యుణ్ణి). కేవలం పదహారు వ్యాకరణ సూత్రాలను నేర్చుకుంటే భాష వచ్చేసినట్లే.

    ఐతే ఎస్పరాంటో కు అనుకూలంగా ఎన్ని వాదాలు ఉన్నాయో, ప్రతికూలంగా కూడా అన్ని వివాదాలు ఉన్నాయి. అన్నింటికన్న ముఖ్యమైనది, ఎస్పరాంటో పదజాలం, పోలిష్ (naturally!), హంగేరియన్, రొమానియన్ వంటి మధ్య ఐరోపా భాషలనుండి తయారు చేశారు కనుక, అది ఐరోపా వారికి సులభంగానూ, ఇతరులకు కష్టంగాను ఉంటుందని, కనుక దానికి ప్రపంచ భాష కాగల అర్హత లేదన్నది. దీనిపై ఎన్నో చర్చలు ఇంటర్నెట్ లో కనిపిస్తాయి. ఇంకా వివరాలు కావాలంటే http://www.esperanto.org/angla/ లోనూ http://www.geocities.com/bharato/ లోనూ చూడవచ్చు.

    మీకు తెలుసా, స్టార్ వార్స్ సీరియల్ తీసినప్పుడు, గ్రహాంతర వాసులు భూలోకపు భాషల్లో మాట్లాడితే బాగుండదని రచయిత వారికోసం ‘క్లింగాన్స్” అనే ఒక కొత్తభాషనే తయారు చేశాడు. స్టార్ వార్స్ ప్రసిధ్ధమైనాక ఆ భాషను చాలా మంది పోటీ పడి నేర్చుకొన్నారు. క్లింగాన్స్ భాష మాట్లాడేవారు అనేక వేలమంది ఉన్నారు నేడు.

    ఈ కృత్రిమ భాషలగురించి చెప్పగలిందొక్కటే: “వెర్రి వేయి విధాలు”🙂

  6. Hello, whilst there have been other attempts to create an international language, Esperanto is the only one to build a self-sustaining speech community. Take a look at http://www.esperanto.net
    Esperanto works! I’ve used it in speech and writing – and sung in it – in about fifteen countries over recent years.

    Indeed, the language has some remarkable practical benefits. Personally, I’ve made friends around the world through Esperanto that I would never have been able to communicate with otherwise. And then there’s the Pasporta Servo, which provides free lodging and local information to Esperanto-speaking travellers in over 90 countries.

    What do you think?

  7. @Hilary Chapman:
    Thanks for visiting my blog.
    Great to know about Esperanto from you and Brian.
    Interesting information🙂
    Well, I am just a beginner in learning about “invented” languages and Esperanto is the only one I heard of before🙂 so, I can’t comment much.

  8. […] the land of invented languages” a few weeks back (about which I mentioned in my blog in July) and got an idea of word formations in the “Philosophical Language” of Wilkins. Yeah, […]


Leave a Reply

