The Calcutta Chromosome – Amitav Ghosh

Despite knowing pretty well that Amitav Ghosh is a writer of good repute, I never read any of his novels all through these years of life. Even now, it was only the fact that “The Calcutta chromosome” won “Arthur C.Clarke award” that prompted me to start reading it. However, it only was a start. Ghosh compelled me to read it at a stretch. Now, I come out of my Ghosh-abandonment and will read more of his, whenever I get a chance.

Sci-Fi somehow fascinates me like no other genre. Further, if it is written in this way, its more fascinating – relating several stories and forming a web of interconnected events. The story began with a man called Antar working with a futuristic machine Ava, and accidentally finding an old identity card of a person called L.Murugan. Antar recollects his brief association with Murugan alias Morgan. From here, the story moves through myriad places and myriad characters – Calcutta (now, Kolkata), Secunderabad, Murugan, Ronald Ross, Phulboni-the writer, Lutchman alias Lakhaan, Urmila – the journalist, Sonali – the celebrity etc etc.The story went from the days of Ronald Ross to the 1990s. It had all the necessary ingredients of an entertaining thriller.

Well, it may be a lapse on my part…but, I was not totally convinced with the way it ended. I still am not. Nevertheless, it was a good read and I would rather suggest you to give it a try🙂 I for one, will continue moving towards another novel of Amitav Ghosh as soon as I get some time and oppurtunity.

Keeping this post shorter has no other reason except that…I began this post so long back (more than 1.5 months back!!) that I lost interest in writing a long post now🙂

Published in: on August 8, 2008 at 10:48 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vbsowmya.wordpress.com/2008/08/08/the-calcutta-chromosome-amitav-ghosh/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good review..🙂 Thanks for introducing a good book and
    a good writer.

  2. Hmm.. seems like not the one to interest me!! Looking forward for another review.

  3. The end is quite foggy, true. And the plot is a bit too far-fetched. Good idea with not-so-good backstory, I guess. This is my second Ghosh book; I liked ‘The Hungry Tide’ better. My blog post on the book.

  4. Must be an enjoyable read Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh. loved the way you wrote it. I find your review very genuine and orignal, this book is going in by “to read” list.


Leave a Reply

