Idols – Sunil Gavaskar

“Idols” is a book by Sunil Gavaskar on the cricketers whom he like the most. It had some thirty profiles on the whole, written in a simple and story telling manner. I have heard about this book and “Sunny Days” in school days. Back then, it was just another book amongst thousands of books. But, as time passed and I began to read more on cricket, I got inquisitive about those books. But, as fate would have it, I found random books like – “Zed” by Zaheer Abbas, “Captaincy” by Ray Illingworth etc on the stalls, never these two books. Gradually, I stopped trying for them though their thoughts existed in my subconscious self. Finally, I got hold of this book when I was away at a small township in Uttar Karnataka district and I got the feel of it.

So, this book can be understood as the cricketing biographies of those players, said from the eyes of Gavaskar. It covered the international stars of his days like Rohan Kanhai (Gavaskar named his son as Rohan as a tribute to Kanhai), Sobers, Hadlee, Marsh, Kapil Dev, “Jimmy” Amarnath, “Zed” Zaheer Abbas, Javed Miandad, Imran Khan, Viv Richards, Bishen singh Bedi, Prasanna, B.S.Chandra Sekhar, Venkataraghavan etc etc and also the unfortunate national cricketers, who never made it in to test cricket – Rajinder Goel and P.Shivalkar. Ofcourse, the list that I mentioned is not exhaustive. I am recollecting from the names I saw. It was full of stories – known and unknown, interesting and sometimes surprising too. Ofcourse, a player who had a long career is bound to have interesting inside stories which are all the more interesting to curious cats like me.🙂 I think the desire to know about others is an inherent characteristic of a human being, which makes biographies and autobiographies so successful among fans and other readers…😉

This post is more a “i finally read it” post than about the book as such, as you must have understood by now. As I googled to get some info on it, I found this information about a Sunil Gavaskar omnibus. Interesting link….Cricket Literature fans can try this out!

Published in: on January 6, 2008 at 10:00 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vbsowmya.wordpress.com/2008/01/06/idols-sunil-gavaskar/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. this one looks pretty good🙂

    http://indianwebdesign.wordpress.com/2008/01/07/12/


Leave a Reply

