Hrishikesh Mukherjee’s Anand

I had this movie on my system since some days, but, never had time to see it. Atlast, I decided to see it. It was a good experience seeing it, I should say. Anand is a 1970 Hindi movie, made by Hrishikesh Mukherjee. I am not a great fan of Hrishikesh Mukherjee, for I know only all those praises about him…. but nothing about his films. However, this movie touched me deeply, and as a result of this, I investigated on Hrishi-da (as he is popularly known). I came to know that this is the same person who made movies like – Golmaal, Abhimaan, Guddi, Namak Haraam etc.

Anand is in short – a celebration of life. Songs were superb. Rajesh Khanna’s dialogues and his typical voice were great. Amitabh Bachchan, who must have been pretty young at that time looked cute. The dialogues, by Gulzar – are something worth going back and reminiscing again. All these dialogues, especially in Rajesh Khanna’s voice …. rocked. I will not hesitate to listen the dialogues again and again. Songs – what a beauty! Salil Choudhary is the music director. Yogesh and Gulzar for lyrics. I am not a great Hindi person. But, still, those songs, and in Mukesh’s voice (I thought Kishore Kumar sung for Rajesh Khanna most of the time!) left such an indelible impression!

Well, the movie is philosophically rocking. When Anand died shouting his last words : “Babu Moshai!!!!” I was so moved that I almost broke. Rajesh Khanna saying – “babu moshai..” is still ringing in my ears. The movie is dedicated to Raj Kapoor and the City of Mumbai. Though I don’t know the reason for these dedications, I was able to see this dedication all through, more after reading that : Raj Kapoor used to address Hrishi Da as Babu Moshai!

This is one movie, not to be missed people! it rocks. Everything in this movie is worth watching. It was a great experience watching it. Now, I am on a hunt for Hrishi da’s movies and Gulzar’s dialogues.🙂

Published in: on February 3, 2007 at 3:56 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vbsowmya.wordpress.com/2007/02/03/hrishikesh-mukherjees-anand/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nice post. I also remember the performance by Amitabh Bachchan as a quiet friend looking after an ailing patient.

    The last scene where the tape runs out of the spooler still sends chills up my spine.

  2. “కహీ దూర్ జబ్ దిన్ ఢల్ జాయే! సాంజ్ కీ దులహన్ బదన్ చురాయే…చుప్ కే సే ఆయే!” గుర్తు తెచ్చినందుకు చాలా థాంక్స్!

  3. Anand is really a nice movie. I remember every dialogues of that movie. But my personnel favourite from Hrishi-da’s movies is Mili. It is a simple but very emotional movie. You watch that movie and you will love it. Hrishi-da’s personnel faourite among his movies was Satyakaama. I didnt watch it yet.


Leave a Reply

